» About Us    Griffith in the PressA Brief History
» Leadership Council

2018 Leadership council

Effective January 1, 2018



Barbara Bufkin, Chair

Executive Head of Business Development

Rob McDade, JD, CPCU, Vice Chair

Vice President – Agency Operations
COUNTRY Financial

John K. Smith, CPCU, CRM, CIC, Secretary

President and Chief Executive Officer
Pennsylvania Lumbermens Insurance Company

Dana Rudmose, CPA, Treasurer

Rudmose & Noller Advisors LLC

John Meder, Immediate Past Chair

Executive Vice President, Risk Advisory Practice
USI Insurance Services

Valerie J. Cammiso, CAE, Executive Director



Janice M. Abraham*

President and Chief Executive Officer
United Educators Insurance

Meg Allwein*

Senior Vice President and Chief Quality Officer
Assurex Global

Bryan Bogardus

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
Accident Fund Group

Mark Browne, Ph.D.

Faculty Chair, Risk Management, Insurance & Actuarial Science
St. John’s University

James Carson, Ph.D., CPCU, CLU, ARM*

Professor, Risk Management & Insurance
University of Georgia

Gregory Clark

Senior Vice President and Regional Director
MAPFRE Insurance

Noelle Codispoti, CPCU, ARM

Executive Director
Gamma Iota Sigma

LaVawn Coleman, J.D., CPCU, ARe

Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary
Grange Insurance

R.B. Drennan, Jr., Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Chairman, Department of Risk, Insurance and Management
Temple University

Kevin J. Frederick, J.D.

Vice President-Counsel, Corporate Law
State Farm Insurance Companies, Public Policy Resource Group

Susan Haack

Chief Financial Officer (Retired)
Motorists Insurance Group

Robert P. Hartwig, Ph.D., CPCU

Professor and Co-Director, Risk and Uncertainty Management Center
University of South Carolina

Peter Hohman, MBA, FCIP, DAE, ICD.D*

President and Chief Executive Officer
The Insurance Institute of Canada

Robert E. Hoyt, Ph.D.

Department Chair, Risk Management and Insurance
University of Georgia

James Jones, MBA, CPCU, ARM, AIC, AIS*

Director, Katie School of Insurance
Illinois State University

Susan Krieger, CPCU, CLU, ChFC*

Vice President, Operations
State Farm Insurance Companies

Gene Lai, Ph.D.

Chair, Risk Management and Insurance
University of North Carolina at Charlotte

James Lash

Vice President, Executive Risk Practice Leader
Hylant Group, Inc.

Thomas Luning

Head of US Regional Business Development
Aspen Re

Howard Mills*

Global Insurance Regulatory Leader
Insurance Industry Group, Deloitte Consulting, LLP

Matthew Mosher

Senior Vice President of Rating
A.M. Best Company

Christopher M. Paterakis, MBA, PHR

Group Human Resources Leader
Westfield Group

James Taylor, JD, CPCU, AIC, MCM

Head of Claims Compliance & Quality Assurance
Farmers Insurance Exchange

Anthony J. Trivella

Executive Vice President
Hartford Steam Boiler

Thomas E. Workman*

*At-large Executive Committee Member